British Grand Prix LIVE: Latest F1 updates as Lewis Hamilton starts from pole at Silverstone

The Independent employs reporters around the world to bring you truly independent journalism. To support us,

توسط FARDAALEFBA در 12 مرداد 1399

The Independent employs reporters around the world to bring you truly independent journalism. To support us, please consider a contribution.

Follow the latest updates live from the British Grand Prix as Silverstone hosts the first of two back-to-back races with Lewis Hamilton starting from pole position.

The home favourite does not have the normal support of the British fans as the Grand Prix takes place this weekend without fans due to the coronavirus measures, which has also seen Sergio Perez ruled out of the race after he tested positive for Covid-19 on Thursday evening.

It means a return for Nico Hulkengberg in the Racing Point, who despite appearing to have enormous pace in the car disappointed in qualifying as Max Verstappen took third behind the two Mercedes, with the Ferrari of Charles Leclerc in fourth ahead of another British driver in McLaren’s Lando Norris. Follow the live action below.

Welcome to The Independent's live coverage of the British Grand Prix, where Lewis Hamilton bids to win a seventh race at Silverstone of his career in an effort to increase his world championship lead.

When is it?

The British Grand Prix takes place across 31 July - 2 August 2020.

What time does each session start?


Free practice 1: 11am – 12:30pm BST

Free practice 2: 3pm – 4:30pm BST


Free practice 3: 11am – 12pm BST

Qualifying: 2pm – 3pm BST


Race: 2:10pm – 4:10pm BST

How can I watch it?

All European races will be held behind closed doors, meaning that the only way fans will be able to see the action is on television.

In the UK, Sky Sports continue to hold the exclusive rights for F1, but Channel 4 is able to show every session from the British Grand Prix live this weekend.

If you’re not a Sky customer you can purchase a NOWTV Day Pass here to watch without a subscription.

Here’s how Sky and Channel 4 plan to show the British Grand Prix:


Free practice 1: 10:30am – 12:50am BST – (Sky Sports F1 + Sky Sports Main Event), 10:55am - 12:35pm BST (Channel 4)

Free practice 2: 2:45pm – 4:45pm BST (Sky Sports F1 + Sky Sports Main Event), 2:35pm - 4:35pm BST (Channel 4)


Free practice 3: 10:45am – 12:10pm BST (Sky Sports F1 + Sky One), 10:55am - 12pm BST (Channel 4)

Qualifying: 1pm – 3:35pm BST (Sky Sports F1 + Sky One), 1pm - 4pm BST (Channel 4)


Race: 12:30pm – 5pm BST (Sky Sports F1, Sky Sports Main Event and Sky One), 1pm - 6pm BST (Channel 4)

Highlights: 6:30pm - 7:30pm BST (Sky Sports F1 + Sky One), 11:45pm - 12:45am BST (Channel 4)

We may earn commission from some of the links in this article, but we never allow this to influence our content.

Drier changes

With Sergio Perez ruled out of action, Racing Point will have to make a decision on who to replace the Mexican with as they intend on racing two cars this weekend. Esteban Gutierrez is one option, with the Mercedes reserve driver the allocated back-up for Racing Point this weekend as Stoffel Vandoorne is unavailable. But Gutierrez has not raced an F1 car since leaving Alfa Romeo (formerly Sauber) at the end of 2014.

A more recent and likely option is Nico Hulkenberg, with the German missing out on a seat in 2020 after being replaced at Renault by Esteban Ocon. Hulkenberg drove for the Racing Point team in their former guise as Force India in 2012 and from 2014 to 2016.

Starting grid

1 Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) Mercedes GP 1min 24.303secs

2 Valtteri Bottas (Fin) Mercedes GP 1:24.616

3 Max Verstappen (Ned) Red Bull 1:25.325

4 Charles Leclerc (Mon) Ferrari 1:25.427

5 Lando Norris (Gbr) McLaren 1:25.782

6 Lance Stroll (Can) Racing Point 1:25.839

7 Carlos Sainz (Spa) McLaren 1:25.965

8 Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) Renault 1:26.009

9 Esteban Ocon (Fra) Renault 1:26.209

10 Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Ferrari 1:26.339

11 Pierre Gasly (Fra) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1:26.501

12 Alexander Albon (Tha) Red Bull 1:26.545

13 Nico Hulkenburg (Ger) Racing Point 1:26.566

14 Daniil Kvyat (Rus) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1:26.744

15 Kevin Magnussen (Den) Haas F1 1:27.158

16 Antonio Giovinazzi (Ita) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:27.164

17 Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:27.366

18 Romain Grosjean (Fra) Haas F1 1:27.643

19 Nicholas Latifi (Can) Williams 1:27.705

20 George Russell (Gbr) Williams 1:27.092 + five-place grid penalty
آخرین مطالب